top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYohama Larralde

Pet Insurance: Why You Need It.

The first question I ask my family and friends when they bring home a new furry family member is if they have looked into pet insurance. For today’s post I am going to get a little personal and write about my dogs and my experience with pet insurance. I have 3 dogs, all of which I pay pet insurance for. The way most of them work is you pay the vet up front, file a claim, and get reimbursed. Depending on the company and plan you can even get up to 100% reimbursement.


There are different plans to fit your needs, I personally have a $200 yearly deductible with a 90% reimbursement rate. I got pet insurance for my Ella and Maggie when they were puppies which is what I recommend. Most pet insurance companies do not cover pre-existing conditions and have a waiting period for accidents and illnesses- usually 14 days. Some may require a physical exam for your pet before you file a claim to ensure there are no underlying health conditions before you signed your pet up with the plan.

The cost for the premiums varies. Depending on the yearly deductible and the reimbursement rate. Some companies have a per-incident deductible instead of a yearly one. Some of them have a yearly or lifetime cap and will not pay past that amount. Other companies do not have these limitations. Some of them also offer Wellness coverage (like flea/tick/dental cleanings).


The most important thing when selecting a pet insurance company is to as A LOT of questions- either to the rep, or someone who has that company for their pet insurance. Picking a plan that meets your specific needs and budget is essential.


I personally have Figo and Healthy Paws for my pets. Both are $200 yearly deductible and 90% reimbursement. I do not have a yearly or lifetime cap with either of these insurances. And, I opted out of the Wellness coverage as I save up for that throughout the year. The reason I chose to get pet insurance for my dogs instead of just saving monthly is because I have multiple dogs. And, sure, I could save up $60 per dog a month, but, what if they BOTH get sick at the same time? Now what? Well, then I’d be in debt, not be able to care for them, and not get any money back. A few years after getting insurance for them they both got sick at the same time- Maggie needed hundreds of dollars in testing to figure out what was wrong with her, and Ella needed a $2300 bilateral knee surgery plus rehab. Their insurance covered 90% of all expenses and continues to cover Maggie’s $100 monthly meds. They also covered 90% of her recent surgeries to remove her tumors and will cover her chemo treatments. I don’t think I’ll ever be without insurance for my pups.


I’m going to link a website that I use for reference and comparison when I search/help other clients find the best pet insurance for their needs. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!!


Until next time!

-Yohama





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page